Áron Szilágyi

Áron Szilágyi

UN ESCRIMEUR HONGROIS, IL EST DOUBLE CHAMPION OLYMPIQUE ET CHAMPION D'EUROPE

Date de naissance: le 14 janvier 1990

Hauteur: 180 cm

Poids: 80 kg

Médias sociaux:

Facebook: Áron Szilágyi

En 2006, il termine à la cinquième place aux Championnats du Monde Cadet. Il est 31e parmi les juniors. Avec l’équipe, il y remporte la 9e place. Il obtient la médaille d'or aux Championnats d'Europe organisés à Poznań. En équipe, ils décrochent la sixième place. En 2007, il remporte la victoire aux Championnats d'Europe Cadets en individuel et par équipe. Dans la même année, il remporte la deuxième place aux Championnats du Monde Cadet. Toujours dans la même année, il remporte une médaille d'or aux Championnats du Monde à Saint-Pétersbourg par équipe avec Tamás Decsi, Balázs Lontay et Zsolt Nemcsik. Il est 42e en individuel. Il participe aux Championnats du Monde Junior à Prague où il obtient la médaille d’argent en individuel et aussi par équipe.

En 2008, il est 6e aux Championnats du Monde Junior en individuel, et il remporte la médaille d’or par équipe. Il est 18e aux Championnats d’Europe et 7e par équipe. En 2008, il participe aux Jeux Olympiques de Pékin, terminant quinzème en individuel et septième par équipe. Il remporte la médaille d’argent aux Championnats d'Europe à Amsterdam par équipe. A la fin de l’année, il a gagné le Championnat de Hongrie. En 2009, il décroche la médaille d’argent aux Championnats du Monde Junior en individuel et il remporte la victoire par équipe. Il était le meilleur aux Championnats d’Europe U23 à Debrecen. Il est 4e aux Championnats d’Europe Adults par équipe et 30e en individuel. Il remporte la place 13e aux Championnats du Monde à Antalya en individuel et la 3e place par équipe. Il décroche la médaille d’or aux Championnats d’Europe Junior en individuel et il est la 6e place par équipe.

En 2010, il obtient la médaille de bronze aux Championnats du Monde Junior et il est 9e par équipe. Il est 11e aux Championnats d’Europe en individuel et 6e par équipe. Il est 6e aux Championnats du Monde à Paris en individuel et 10e par équipe. Il est la 6e place aux Championnats de Hongrie.

En 2011, il est battu par l'allemand Nicolas Limbach en quart de finale aux Championnats du Monde à Catane, il termine donc à la 6e place. Il est aussi la 6e place par équipe. Il décroche la médaille de bronze aux Championnants d’Europe et il est la 6e place par équipe. En 2012 à Chicago, il remporte la médaille d'or à la dernière compétition des hommes avant les Jeux Olympiques. Il est la 24e place aux Championnants d’Europe en individuel et le 8e place par équipe. Son coach était György Gerevich, le coach de Zsolt Nemcsik qui a été également le coach du médaillé d'argent olympique Zsolt Nemcsik. A partir de 2008, après la mort tragique de Gerevich, il est entraîné par Béla Somlai.

ll est dans les 32 tours éliminatoires d’épreuves de sabre individuel aux Jeux Olympiques de Londres en 2012 et a battu Peng Yu Kean de Malaisie avec le score de 15-1. Au tour suivant il gagne contre le champion en titre Chinois Zhong Man avec le score de 15- 10. Il continue avec l'élimination aux 1/8 contre Max Hartung d'Allemagne, qu'il gagne avec le score de 15-13. Ensuite dans les quarts de finale il gagne avec le score de 15-7 contre Nikolay Kovalev. Il mène 8-1 contre Diego Occhiuzzi de l'Italie en finale et finit par devenir champion olympique avec un score de 15-8. Il décroche la première médaille d’or de la Hongrie aux Jeux Olympiques de 2012.

En 2013, il est 18e aux Championnats d’Europe à Zagreb en individuel et il remporte la médaille d’argent par équipe avec Csaba Gáll, Csanád Gémesi et Nikolász Iliász. Il est battu par le médaillé d'argent russe Nikolay Kovalov avec le score 14-15 en individuel dans la demi-finale aux Championnats du Monde à Budapest.

Pendant les Championnats du Monde, il a été élu le membre de la Commission des athlètes de la Fédération Internationale d'Escrime.

En février 2014, il remporte la médaille d’or à la Coupe du Monde de Sabre Hommes à Padoue contre Ku Bongil de la Corée du Sud. Il est parmi les 16 aux Championnats d’Europe en individuel et 6e par équipe.

En 2015, il obtient la médaille d’or aux Championnats d’Europe en individuel et la médaille de bronze par équipe. Il remporte la 6e place aux Championnats du Monde en individuel. A partir de septembre 2015, il est entraîné par Andras Decsi au lieu de Béla Somlai.

Il remporte la médaille d’argent aux Championnats du Monde d’Escrime 2016. En 2016, il obtient la 6e place aux Championnats d’Europe en individuel et la 4e place par équipe.

Il défend son titre olympique en individuel aux Jeux Olympiques organisés à Rio de Janeiro au 10 août 2016 contre Daryl Homer (15:8). Avec cela, il décroche sa 2ème médaille d’or olympique. En conséquence, à partir de 1948, il est le premier sportif hongrois qui remporte la médaille d’or comme un Olympique porte-drapeau et il devient le cinquième sabreur de l'histoire à réussir le doublé olympique en individuel, et le troisième Hongrois après Jenő Fuchs (1908 et 1912) et Rudolf Kárpáti (1956 et 1960).

  • Escrimeur de l'année parmi les junior hongrois (2006, 2009)
  • Prix Junior Prima (2010)
  • Escrimeur Hongrois de l'année (2011, 2012)
  • Croix d'officier de l'Ordre du Mérite hongrois (2012)
  • Citoyen d'honneur de Budapest (2012)
  • Le Sportif Hongrois de l'Année - 3e place (2012)

Back to the main page

ÁRON SZILÁGYI


HUNGARIAN SABRE FENCER, TWO-TIME OLYMPIC, WORLD AND EUROPEAN CHAMPION

ÁRON SZILÁGYI

NEWS | 
 
Biography

Date of birth: 14th January 1990

Height: 180 cm

Weight: 80 kg

In 2006, he won the fifth place at the Cadet World Championships. He took the 31st place among the juniors. In team, he won the 9th place. He won the gold at the European Championships organized in Poznań. In team, they won the sixth place. In 2007, he won the Cadet European Championships both in individual and in team. In the same year, he won second place in the Cadet World Championships. Still in the same year, he won a gold medal at the World Championships in St. Petersburg in team – with Tamás Decsi, Balázs Lontay and Zsolt Nemcsik. In individual he ranked as 42th. At the European Championships in Prague, he won the second place both in individual and in team.

In 2008, he won sixth place in individual, first place in team at the Junior World Championships. At the European Championship, he took the 18th place in individual and the 7th in team. At the age of 18, he made the best 16 at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing. He finished 7th in team. At the Junior European Championships in Amsterdam, his team won the silver medal. At the end of the year, he won the Hungarian Championships. In 2009, at the Junior World Championships, he won second place in individual and first place in team event. Szilágyi proved to be the best at the U23 European Championships in Debrecen. At the adult European Championships, his team won fourth place, while he took the 30th place in the individual event. At the World Championship in Antalya, he won 13th place in individual, third place in team. He won the gold in individual and the 6th place in team event at the Junior European Championships.

In 2010, he won third place in the individual and 9th place in the team event at the Junior World Championships. At the European Championships, he won the 11th place, while his team won the 6th place. At the World Championships in Paris, he won the 6th place, his team finished in the 10th place. He finished 6th at the Hungarian Championships.

In 2011, he was defeated by the German Nicolas Limbach in the quarter-finals at the fencing World Championships in Catania, thus finished 6th in the competition. His team also took the 6th place. At the European Championships, he won a bronze medal, while his team won the 6th place. He won the Individual Hungarian Championships. In 2012 in Chicago, he won the gold in the competition of last men’s Sabre Fencing World Cup before the Olympic Games. At the European Championships, he took the 24th place in individual and the 8th place in team events. His coach was György Gerevich, the trainer of the Olympic silver medalist Zsolt Nemcsik. After the tragic death of Gerevich in 2008, the master Béla Somlai has been his coach.

At the 2012 London Olympic Games, he started out among the best 32 in the individual sabre fencing event, where he beat the Malaysian Peng Kean Yu 15-1. In the next round, he defeated the Chinese Lee Chung Man (current champion) 15-10. Among the best 8, he won against the German Max Hartung 15-13. In the semi-finals, he defeated the Russian Nicolay Kovalev 15-7. In the finals, he had an advantage of 8-1 early on against the Italian Diego Occhiuzzi, and eventually, he won 15-8 and became the Olympic Champion. He was the first Hungarian to win a gold medal at the 2012 Olympic Games.

In 2013, at the European Championships in Zagreb, he finished 18th individually, while his team – comprising Csaba Gáll, Csanád Gémesi and Nikolász Iliász – won second place. In the World Championships in Budapest, he was defeated 14-15 in the individual semi-finals by Nicolay Kovalev – who later won a silver medal –, thus, Szilágyi won the bronze medal.

During the World Championships, he was elected as a member of the Athletes’ Commission of the International Fencing Federation.

In February 2014 – when he defeated the South-Korean Gu Bon-gil –, Szilágyi won the Men’s Sabre Fencing World Cup in Padova. In the individual competition of the European Championships, Szilágyi dropped out from the best 16, but his team won the 6th place.

In 2015, he won the gold medal at the European Championships in individual, while his team won a bronze medal. At the World Championships, he finished as 6th in the individual event. András Decsi replaced Béla Somlai as his coach in September 2015.

At the Sabre Fencing Team World Championships in 2016, he won the silver medal. At the European Championships in 2016, he won 6th place in individual event, while his team finished in the 4th place.

On 10th August 2016, he defended his Olympic champion title in the finals of the sabre fencing individual event against Daryl Homer 15-8 at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. As a result, he became the first Hungarian sportsperson since 1948 to have won an Olympic gold medal as an Olympic flag bearer, as well as the third Hungarian sabre fencer after Jenő Fuchs (1908, 1912) and Rudolf Kárpáti (1956, 1960) to defend his Olympic title.

  • Hungarian junior fencer of the year (2006, 2009)
  • Junior Prima Prize (2010)
  • Hungarian fencer of the year (2011, 2012)
  • Officer's Cross of the Hungarian Order of Merit (2012)
  • Honorary citizen of Budapest (2012)
  • Hungarian Sportsman of the Year vote – third place (2012)